How to deactivate your Gmail account
Gmail, the official mail services of Google, is one of the largest and most popular mailing systems in the world. It is used with a plethora of Google devices, and is the primary service used by millions of businesses and individuals all across the globe. Gmail is free to use (it is supported by ads), and was first started back in 2004 as a beta service. However, since then Gmail has gone from strength to strength, and now provides one of the most popular online based email services in the world. Given the integration options that it provides with the Google Apps suite, Gmail is easily one of the best email accounts to have. However, for people who no longer want to use Gmail, here’s how to deactivate your account:
1. Sign out of all Gmail accounts
Gmail remains signed in to a number of different accounts even after you sign out from your computer. You need to sign out of all of the accounts. Your mobile, tablet and any other device that may be connected must be signed out from ALL services that make use of the Gmail application.
2. Login again on your computer
Log in to your Gmail account on your computer, and click ‘Account’, located right beside Privacy. Once you have signed in, you will see a number of options on the screen. Click on the tab that says ‘Data Tools’. In the Data tools, you will see the tab that says Account Management. There, you will see a link that says Delete account and data. Click on it.
3. Confirm Deletion
Once you click on the link, you will be redirected to a new page that asks you to confirm deletion of your account, as well as all other services of Google that may be in use. You will be asked to review the Terms and Conditions, and provide your password along with the final step. Once you enter your password, you can simply click on ‘Delete Account’, and all information pertaining to your account, including the account itself, will be deleted permanently.